Archive for December 11th, 2010

11
Dec
10

The nice thing about a blizzard!

And this is the ONLY thing nice about it… it keeps the Homie’s at home or in the bar. Either way its all good with me because it keeps ’em from stopping by the shop and wasting my time with the endless questions. That being said, I finished mating the inner and outer fairing this morning, without interruption and its just about ready for primer. Here are a couple of images showing where the seam is between the inner and outer. On the hidden side of the two pieces I laid 4 layers of glass mat in strips to join  them together in higher stress areas, then I finished off the exterior of the seam with Duraglass. That creates a rock solid bond between the two pieces. Going home to help the better half with Christmas Decorating now with hopes of being able to add at least one more posting before Christmas.

11
Dec
10

An alternative look

I’ve had a few people ask if I’d sell this kit minus the fairing, or if it could be done using a V-Rod or Buell headlight using one of their mini-fairings, so while I’ve got the Pro-Tour fairing off I thought it’d be a good idea to show what this looks like minus the fairing. You’ll probably notice I’ve swapped out the black front fender that’s been on the bike since the beginning of the project to this bare metal one. Its a new twist I thought of a few years ago but didn’t have an application for – until now. There are two functions of the ducts in the sides of the fender. One is aesthetics – it gives the fender a lighter look even though its a full-length fender. Secondly – on full-length fenders the wind is ‘trapped’ at the rear and with this design the ducts act as pressure relief ports for that trapped air. And for those of you interested – Yes, I’ll sell you a duplicate of this fender for $245.oo US Dollarinos, plus shipping of course.

I’ve got the fairing off now because I’m mating the inner fairing to the outer fairing to create a seamless “one-piece’ unit. I’ll post a couple images of that within a few days.