Archive for September 15th, 2010

15
Sep
10

Installing/fitting the left rear storage door

I decided to work on the left rear storage door for a bit this morning, so I’ve got the hinge cut, shaped and installed. Now I’ll need to add glass to some areas to ‘tighten’ it up and remove glass in other areas to free up some room for the weather seal – just like I did previously on the right side. I had a client come by with his one year old bike, (I won’t name the brand – but it isn’t a Harley) and he showed me how much road dust was inside his hard saddlebags due to piss poor sealing. I’ve kept a close eye on the first version of my clamshell on Mark Platt’s Pro-Tour ‘X’ to make sure there weren’t any issues with poor sealing, and – so far – no complaints. Honestly, the subtle changes I’ve made on this version vs. Mark’s makes it more rigid and therefore even ‘tighter’ than Mark’s so I’m extremely confident in the long-range durability of this design. When I finish the left side door I’m going to fill the storage areas with water just to see if there are any gaps, but based on the way the weather seal looks on the right side, there is good contact with the seal all the way around, so I’m expecting an air-tight seal. The interior of these and the mid-frame storage compartments will have a nice gray ‘carpet’ type material lining them on all Pro-Tour conversions. In an earlier entry you can see images of the interior of Mark’s storage compartments with the lining installed. It looks finished and certainly keeps small items from ‘rattling around’ when you’re rolling down the road.